A marriage license purchased in Minnesota is valid for 6 months & allows you to be married within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota. The official who performs the marriage ceremony should file the marriage license with us within 5 days of the ceremony (MS 517.10).
How to apply
The marriage license application can be filled out online at MN Official Marriage System (MOMS) or in person at our office. The application does NOT need to be printed by the applicants. Signatures will be done in person at the time of completion at Land Services.
Applicants must appear in person to complete the application process within 90 days. If one of the applicants cannot appear in person, please contact Land Services to discuss your options.
What to bring
- Valid driver's license or other identification issued by a government entity.
- Social Security Number
- If either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date, place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place of death of the former spouse.
- Both applicants must at least 18 years of age.
- The full name & address each of the parties will take after the civil marriage.
- $115 - Regular fee: Payable by cash, check, debit or credit card, or money order is due at time of application.
- $40 - Reduced fee: If you have obtained premarital education as per MS 517.08. You must bring in a signed and dated statement, printed on the church or educator's letterhead with the educator's signature notarized.
The names on the educator's statement must match names on the marriage license application. This statement must be presented at the time the marriage license is applied for or the regular license fee is due. There are no refunds on the fees charged for a marriage license.
- A packet of information will be given to you with your license. Included is guidance for changing your name with other entities.
- A marriage must be witnessed by 2 adults (16 or older).
- Neither of you is required to be a Minnesota resident.
- Your license may be used for 6 months anywhere within the geographical boundaries of Minnesota.
- Minnesota Marriage License Application Statute 517.08.
- The official who performs the marriage ceremony should file the marriage license with us within 5 days of the ceremony (MS 517.10).
- Notary services are available at our office and other offices in the court house.
- Online marriage record / certificate lookup.
Notice to marriage applicants with a felony conviction
Legislation does not allow for a person who has a felony conviction to change their name through the marriage process. The name change process must be completed through the district court.
- MN Residents - Minnesota Statute 259.10 lays out the requirements for a MN resident to apply for a name change through the district court. M.S. 259.13, subd. 5 allows a person with a felony conviction to apply for a name change through the district court for no fee if the person files the action within 180 days after the marriage and a certified copy of the marriage certificate is submitted to the court.
- Non-MN Residents – Contact the district court for your county of residence for further guidance.